How I used my brand guidelines to shape my book cover

Lucy Werner
4 min readFeb 15, 2023

Why you need to have a brand strategy in place to brief your book designers

The first draft versions of Hype Yourself covers

I’ve only written non-fiction business books that directly relate to my business. To caveat, these tips will focus on a non-fiction book that relates to your work.

I saw my book as an extension of my business brand and another micro-billboard touchpoint for my audience.

It was important to me that it was cohesive, and when people saw it, they would connect it with my work.

I’m pleased I clearly understood my brand before briefing cover designers (beyond just the visuals like colours and fonts). Here are some things I prepared in advance for the cover designers.

What is my business about?

I started by talking about what my business is about:

  • A consultancy
  • A boutique
  • A creative collective
  • A vision

The book needed to embody that overarching creative and independent spirit as this was my ideal audience. I didn’t want something that looked corporate or business bore-off.

How do we behave?

--

--

Lucy Werner

Lessons on self promotion and creative living, to help you make an income from your expertise and passion.